South Fremantle's 2019 WAFL fixtures

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 6:36 AM by Chris Pike

THE fixtures for the 2019 WAFL season have been released with South Fremantle opening up on the road to Swan Districts before a string of four successive home matches at Fremantle Community Bank Oval.

South Fremantle is coming off three successive seasons of finishing in second position at the end of the home and away season before going on to reach the preliminary final in all of the 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons.

The Bulldogs are now setting their sights on further improvement in 2019 and it's a new-look set of WAFL fixtures that have been released with the addition of the West Coast Eagles team into the competition after the ending of their partnership with East Perth.

The WAFL is now a 10-team competition as of 2019 with the fixtures simplified and evenly distributed across the 20 rounds. Each team plays 18 matches and against all nine opponents twice - home and away – except against West Coast who are playing all their games at the opponent's home ground.

South Fremantle's 2019 season begins in Round 1 on Saturday April 6 at Bassendean's Steel Blue Oval against Swan Districts.

That leads into a string of four successive home matches at Fremantle Community Bank Oval starting on Saturday April 13 against Perth.

There's then a Sunday clash with West Perth in Round 3 followed by the Anzac Derby against East Fremantle on Saturday April 27.

The last of the string of home matches is against the Eagles on Saturday May 4 leading into the WAFL's State match for 2018 against the SANFL the following weekend.

Back from the general bye and South Fremantle will play reigning premiers Subiaco at Leederville Oval before returning to Fremantle Community Bank Oval to take on East Perth on Saturday May 25.

The WA Day Foundation Derby for 2019 takes place at East Fremantle Oval before the Bulldogs have the bye in Round 9 and then play Peel Thunder in Mandurah on Saturday June 15.

There's two more home games to follow against Subiaco and West Coast followed by the first meeting with Claremont for 2019, in what is the traditional NAIDOC Week battle to be held at Claremont Oval.

Perth is next up at Lathlain Park on Saturday July 13 before the Round 15 bye.

Coming out of the break, the Bulldogs host Swan Districts before being away to East Perth and then the last two games at Fremantle Community Bank Oval are against Peel and Claremont respectively on Saturdays August 10 and 17.

The final game of the home and away season is against West Perth on Saturday August 24 at Joondalup Arena.

Head to our membership website now to sign up for the 2019 season or contact the club on 9335 1555 or for more information.

Round 1 v Swan Districts – Saturday April 6, Steel Blue Oval
Round 2 v Perth – Saturday April 13, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 3 v West Perth – Sunday April 21, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 4 v East Fremantle – Saturday April 27, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 5 v West Coast – Saturday May 4, Fremantle Community Bank Oval

State Game v SANFL – Saturday May 11/Sunday May 12, TBC
Round 6 v Subiaco – Saturday May 18, Leederville Oval
Round 7 v East Perth – Saturday May 25, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 8 v East Fremantle – Monday June 3, East Fremantle Oval
Round 9 – Bye
Round 10 v Peel Thunder – Saturday June 15, David Greys Arena
Round 11 v Subiaco – Saturday June 22, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 12 v West Coast – Saturday June 29, Fremantle Community Bank Oval

Round 13 v Claremont – Saturday July 6, Claremont Oval
Round 14 v Perth – Saturday July 13, Lathlain Park
Round 15 – Bye
Round 16 v Swan Districts – Saturday July 27, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 17 v East Perth – Saturday August 3, Leederville Oval
Round 18 v Peel Thunder – Saturday August 10, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
Round 19 v Claremont – Saturday August 17, Fremantle Community Bank Oval

Round 20 v West Perth – Saturday August 24, Joondalup Arena